Organizational Structure

Special Olympics Kansas

Special Olympics Kansas is an accredited program of Special Olympics, Inc. and has the sole permission to organize, conduct and promote Special Olympics within the state, to raise funds for these purposes and to use the registered Special Olympics symbol. Special Olympics was created by the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation. Special Olympics, Inc. (SOI) is the official governing body for Special Olympics.

Special Olympics, Inc.

is divided into 7 Regions and is headquartered at:

1133 19th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

1.202. 628.3630

Special Olympics North America (SONA)

Each U.S. state program is administered by SONA which is further divided into 3 sub-regions – the United States, Canada and the Caribbean. The headquarters of Special Olympics North America Region is located at:

3712 Benson Drive, Suite 102
Raleigh, NC 27609



SOKS is headquartered in Mission, Kansas. The headquarters staff is responsible for the overall direction of the program, overseeing all aspects of the statewide programs and special events, the Kansas Law Enforcement Torch Run, and administering the policies and procedures outlined by SOI and the Board of Directors of Special Olympics Kansas, Inc.

The state is divided into five regions with SOKS staff who are responsible for training, competition, and fundraising within their geographic area. For detailed information on each Region, please click here.