2018-19 Awards

SOKS Annual Awards

Each year Special Olympics Kansas recognizes outstanding individuals who contribute to the organization. As a non-profit we couldn’t do what we do for individuals with intellectual disabilities in Kansas without the support of thousands of volunteer coaches, event management teams, and partner organizations throughout the state. Winners for each category are recognized at the Summer Games opening ceremony each year.

Annual awards are given for the following categories: Family of the Year, Coach of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Law Enforcement Torch Run Champion, and Organization of the Year. In addition, one athlete is selected and recognized as the Most Inspirational Athlete at summer games. Each year a group of outstanding athletes are also selected for induction in the SOKS Athlete Hall of Fame, and a law enforcement officer is chosen for the Richard LaMunyon Hall of Fame.


 Athletes inducted into the Hall of Fame are selected based on participation, sportsmanship, training hours and attitude towards the Special Olympics program.  Nominations are accepted each year, and announcements are made at the Opening Ceremonies of the Summer Games.


2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

Blake Docking

Olathe Trailblazers

Click HERE to learn about Blake

Jeff Emrick

Hutchinson Reno County Hawks

Click HERE to learn about Jeff


James Hermann

Leavenworth County

Click HERE to learn about James


David Hunter

Johnson County Parks and Rec

Click HERE to learn about David


Eric Kling

Olathe Trailblazers

Click HERE to learn about Eric



The Most Inspirational Athlete is selected at the state Summer Games each year. Athletes are nominated by their coaches at the competition and then selected by an independent panel of judges. Judges evaluate the athletes attitude and sportsmanship displayed at the games. The winner receives recognition at the Summer Games banquet and dance the year they are selected and is recognized during the following year’s Summer Games opening ceremony.

The 2019 Most Inspirational Athlete
is Jesus Marquez of the Dodge City Dodgers team.

Click HERE to learn about Jesus.


It is an honor to recognize outstanding service to our organization. These individuals and groups have made a significant difference in the lives of our athletes in our programming and in our mission. SOKS is proud to recognize their accomplishments.

2018 Award Recipients: 

Coach of the Year

Vicki Lozenski
Leavenworth County

Click HERE to learn about Vicki

LETR Champion

Jon Pirie
Shawnee PD

Click HERE to learn about Jon

Volunteer of the Year

Beth Carl

Click HERE to learn about Beth

Family of the Year

Ed & Tonia Lee
Topeka Shawnee

Click HERE to learn about the Lee family

Organizations of the Year

Organizations from each region are recognized annually for their contribution to Special Olympics Kansas. 

Metro Region

Heartland Winter Games Committee

Southeast Region

PSU Health & Human Performance Dept.

South Central Region

DeVore & Sons

North Central Region

Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity

West Region

Hays Medical Center


The Richard LaMunyon Torch Run Hall of fame was created to recognize outstanding individuals who have significantly contributed to the statewide success of the Kansas Law Enforcement Torch Run benefiting Special Olympics. The winner’s involvement must demonstrate a sustained and significant contribution to the achievement of the goals of the Kansas Law Enforcement Torch Run. The minimum requirements for this award are at least five (5) years of participation with the Kansas Torch Run, outstanding achievement in program development, organization and fundraising success.

Congratulations to the 2018 Richard LaMunyon Hall of Fame winner Corporal Jeremiah Waters from the Merriam Police Department. Cpl. Waters has been involved with the Torch Run for 15 years and is the co-organizer for two fundraising events in the Metro – the Heroes Pull and the Memorabilia Auction. He is also the LETR liason for his department which runs the annual Popcorn Standoff at Cinemark and a Cover the Cruiser event at IKEA. Cpl. Waters attends several state competitions each year to cheer for athletes and award medals. He also attends and assists with several Polar Plunge events throughout the state and he has helped with the Truck Convoy for Special Olympics Kansas.

 View Past Winners and More LETR Honors