CALENDAR

Torch Runs

by | Jul 20, 2016 |

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TORCH RUN

Since its inception in Wichita, many more Kansas Law Enforcement agencies have participated in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR). This run turned fundraising campaign raises more than just thousands of dollars for Special Olympics.

In late April, the highlight of the Torch Run season begins when the Flame of Hope travels from all corners of the state throughout the month of May to the State Summer Games in Wichita. Officers from many different agencies escort the Flame of Hope on assigned legs throughout their local communities. The “Final Leg” is the culmination of the run, from Wichita City Hall to the Opening Ceremony of the Summer Games at Wichita State University. The Most Inspirational Athlete of the preceding year carries the Torch into the stadium escorted by the officers and together they light the cauldron to open the State Summer Games. Officers award medals throughout the three days of competition.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run ® gives officers, athletes and the community the opportunity to come together for a superior cause. Whether inspired to volunteer, donate or participate, they are be confident knowing they are supporting the Special Olympics Kansas mission to provide individuals with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to be an athlete… and more… through acceptance, inclusion, physical fitness, health and nutrition programs, and leadership development. – Together we will achieve.

Fort Riley Torch Runners

Torch Run Season is Now Here!

All members of law enforcement (city, county, state, & federal) are encouraged to register for the Torch Run in their local community!  Each runner is asked to raise at least $50 to support the athletes of Special Olympics Kansas and will receive a commemorative T-shirt. Sponsorship of runners is encouraged.

Online registrations and donations can be solicited online through this webpage. Offline registrations and donations can be done by downloading and completing the waiver and sending it, along with the donations, to the address on the bottom or by giving them to your agency coordinator.

Summer Games Lodging

A block of rooms has been reserved for May 31, 2018 – June 3, 2018 at the Hampton Inn Wichita Northwest. The special room rate starting at $94 per night will be available until May 3rd or until the group block is sold-out, whichever comes first.

To book a room now for Summer Games (May 31-June 3, 2018) click this link.

2018 Merchandise Available

Get your 2018 Kansas Law Enforcement Torch Run hats and t-shirts. Shirts are $25 and hats are $20. Click here to learn more.

RUN ROUTES ARE DUE TO LUKE SCHULTE, schultel@ksso.org, BY MAY 1ST.  

Don’t see a torch Run in your town/county?  Contact Luke and let’s carry the FLAME OF HOPE through your community. To get started,
review the Leg Coordinator’s checklist, then download this registration form, complete it and send it to SOKS.

 

CURRENT PARTICIPATING AGENCIES AND RUN ROUTE

Run RouteContact PersonContact InformationDate
AndoverTroy Snedekertsnedeker@andoverks.com
AtwoodGreg Jones785.626.3833
AugustaDanny Strobbedstrobbe@augustadps.org June 1
Coffey CountyJeremy Lindjlind@coffeycountyks.org
ColbyLuke Schulteschultel@ksso.org
Dodge CityJeff Mooradianjeffm@dodgecity.orgApril 28
El Dorado to Wichita (Butler Co.)Luke Grimeslgrimes@bucoks.com June 1
Ellsworth to SalinaBrad Hansenbrad.hansen@doc.ks.gov
Emporia to El DoradoJohn Koelschjkoelsch@lyoncounty.org May 30 – 31
Final Leg Sedgwick CountyLuke Schulteschultel@ksso.org
Fort Riley Zachary Birchmeierzachary.t.birchmeier.mil@mail.mil May 30
Garden CityGary Kuenstlergary.kuenstler@gardencityks.us
GoodlandJoni Showalterjoni.showalter@cityofgoodland.org
Great BendHeather Smithhsmith@greatbendks.net
Greenwood CountyH. Samuelshsamuels@greenwoodcountysheriff.org
Haskell CountyDerrick Ploutzdploutz@haskellso.org
HaysvilleJustin Jacksjjacks@haysville-ks.com May 30
HoxieBrian Diercks785.675.3291
Hutchinson-Reno CountyAndrew SouleAndrew.soule@renolec.com May 17
Junction CityMatt PaquetteMatt.Paquette@jcks.com
Kansas City KansasMark Bundymbundy@kckpd.org
Larned to Great BendJames GrahamJames.graham@ks.gov
Lawrence to OttawaDoug Woodsdwoods@dgso.org
Leavenworth to LansingMaj. Sherleyjsherley@leavenworthcounty.org
Manhattan to Ft. RileyJessie Erhlichjgehrlich@rileycountypolice.org
McConnell AFB – WichitaTeresa Coronadoteresa.coronado.1@us.af.mil
McPhersonRyan Sherwoodrsherwood@mcphersoncountyks.us
OakleyDustin Shellitopolicechief@discoveroakley.com
Olathe to KCKAdam Taylorataylor@pvkansas.com May 29
Ottawa to Beto JunctionLarabe AlexanderLalexander@ottawapd.org
PittsburgChris MooreChristopher.Moore@police.pittks.org April 19
PlainvilleTroy Rudman785.434.2841
Pottawatomie CountyStefanie Spadesspade@ptsheriff.com
Rice CountyMarcos GuerreroMGuerrero@rcsoks.org
Saline CountyScott TrembleyScott.Trembley@saline.org May 23
StocktonGary Knight785.425.6312
TopekaKristi Powellkpowell@topeka.org
Winfield to WichitaShawn Loveslove@winfieldks.org