CALENDAR

Torch Runs

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TORCH RUN

Since its inception in Wichita, many more Kansas Law Enforcement agencies have participated in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR). This run turned fundraising campaign raises more than just thousands of dollars for Special Olympics.

In late April, the highlight of the Torch Run season begins when the Flame of Hope travels from all corners of the state throughout the month of May to the State Summer Games in Wichita. Officers from many different agencies escort the Flame of Hope on assigned legs throughout their local communities. The “Final Leg” is the culmination of the run, from Wichita City Hall to the Opening Ceremony of the Summer Games at Wichita State University. The Most Inspirational Athlete of the preceding year carries the Torch into the stadium escorted by the officers and together they light the cauldron to open the State Summer Games. Officers award medals throughout the three days of competition.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run ® gives officers, athletes and the community the opportunity to come together for a superior cause. Whether inspired to volunteer, donate or participate, they are be confident knowing they are supporting the Special Olympics Kansas mission to provide individuals with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to be an athlete… and more… through acceptance, inclusion, physical fitness, health and nutrition programs, and leadership development. – Together we will achieve.

Torch Run Season is Now Here!

All members of law enforcement (city, county, state, & federal) are encouraged to register for the Torch Run in their local community!  Each runner is asked to raise at least $50 to support the athletes of Special Olympics Kansas and will receive a commemorative T-shirt. Sponsorship of runners is encouraged.

Online registrations and donations can be solicited online through this webpage. Offline registrations and donations can be done by downloading and completing the waiver and sending it, along with the donations, to the address on the bottom or by giving them to your agency coordinator.

 
Fort Riley Torch Runners

Summer Games Lodging

A block of rooms has been reserved for May 30, 2019 – June 2, 2019. The special room rate will be available until May 12th or until the group block is sold-out, whichever comes first.

Booking a reservation from our site is simple. To begin the process, click HERE.

See you at the Hampton Inn Wichita Northwest in May!

RUN ROUTES ARE DUE TO LUKE SCHULTE, schultel@ksso.org, BY MAY 1ST.  

Don’t see a torch Run in your town/county?  Contact Luke and let’s carry the FLAME OF HOPE through your community. To get started,
review the Leg Coordinator’s checklist, then download this registration form, complete it and send it to SOKS.

 

CURRENT PARTICIPATING AGENCIES AND RUN ROUTE

Run RouteContact PersonContact InformationDate
AndoverTroy Snedekertsnedeker@andoverks.comMay 
AtwoodGreg Jones785.626.3833 Fall 
AugustaDanny Strobbedstrobbe@augustadps.orgMay 
    
ColbyLuke Schulteschultel@ksso.org Fall 
Dodge CityJeff Mooradianjeffm@dodgecity.orgApril 
El Dorado to Wichita (Butler Co.)Luke Grimeslgrimes@bucoks.comMay 
Ellsworth to SalinaDouglas Lawsondouglas.lawson@ks.govMay 
Emporia to El DoradoJohn Koelschjkoelsch@lyoncounty.org May 
Final Leg Sedgwick CountyLuke Schulteschultel@ksso.orgMay 
Fort Riley Zachary Birchmeierzachary.t.birchmeier.mil@mail.mil May 
Garden CityGary Kuenstlergary.kuenstler@gardencityks.us 
GoodlandJoni Showalterjoni.showalter@cityofgoodland.org Fall 
Great BendHeather Smithhsmith@greatbendks.net 
Greenwood CountyH. Samuelshsamuels@greenwoodcountysheriff.org May 
Haskell CountyDerrick Ploutzdploutz@haskellso.org Fall 
HaysvilleJustin Jacksjjacks@haysville-ks.com May 
HoxieBrian Diercks785.675.3291 Fall 
Hutchinson-Reno CountyAndrew SouleAndrew.soule@renolec.com May 
Junction CityMatt PaquetteMatt.Paquette@jcks.com May 
Johnson & Wyandotte CountiesAdam Taylorataylor@pvkansas.com May 
Larned to Great BendJames GrahamJames.graham@ks.gov May 
Lawrence to OttawaDoug Woodsdwoods@dgso.org May 
Leavenworth to LansingJim Sherleyjsherley@leavenworthcounty.orgMay  
    
McPhersonRyan Sherwoodrsherwood@mcphersoncountyks.usMay 
OakleyDustin Shellitopolicechief@discoveroakley.com Fall 
    
Ottawa to Beto JunctionLarabe AlexanderLalexander@ottawapd.org May 
PittsburgChris MooreChristopher.Moore@police.pittks.org April 
PlainvilleTroy Rudman785.434.2841 Fall 
Pottawatomie CountyStefanie Spadesspade@ptsheriff.com 
    
Saline CountyScott TrembleyScott.Trembley@saline.org May 
StocktonGary Knight785.425.6312 Fall 
TopekaKristi Powellkpowell@topeka.org May 
Winfield to WichitaShawn Loveslove@winfieldks.orgMay