CALENDAR

Torch Runs

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TORCH RUN

Since its inception in Wichita, many more Kansas Law Enforcement agencies have participated in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR). This run turned fundraising campaign raises more than just thousands of dollars for Special Olympics.

In late April, the highlight of the Torch Run season begins when the Flame of Hope travels from all corners of the state throughout the month of May to the State Summer Games in Wichita. Officers from many different agencies escort the Flame of Hope on assigned legs throughout their local communities. The “Final Leg” is the culmination of the run, from Wichita City Hall to the Opening Ceremony of the Summer Games at Wichita State University. The Most Inspirational Athlete of the preceding year carries the Torch into the stadium escorted by the officers and together they light the cauldron to open the State Summer Games. Officers award medals throughout the three days of competition.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run ® gives officers, athletes and the community the opportunity to come together for a superior cause. Whether inspired to volunteer, donate or participate, they are be confident knowing they are supporting the Special Olympics Kansas mission to provide individuals with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to be an athlete… and more… through acceptance, inclusion, physical fitness, health and nutrition programs, and leadership development. – Together we will achieve.

Fort Riley Torch Runners

Torch Run Season is Now Here!

All members of law enforcement (city, county, state, & federal) are encouraged to register for the Torch Run in their local community!  Each runner is asked to raise at least $50 to support the athletes of Special Olympics Kansas and will receive a commemorative T-shirt. Sponsorship of runners is encouraged.

Online registrations and donations can be solicited online through this webpage. Offline registrations and donations can be done by downloading and completing the waiver and sending it, along with the donations, to the address on the bottom or by giving them to your agency coordinator.

Summer Games Lodging

A block of rooms has been reserved for May 31, 2018 – June 3, 2018 at the Hampton Inn Wichita Northwest. The special room rate starting at $94 per night will be available until May 3rd or until the group block is sold-out, whichever comes first.

To book a room now for Summer Games (May 31-June 3, 2018) click this link.

2018 Merchandise Available

Get your 2018 Kansas Law Enforcement Torch Run hats and t-shirts. Shirts are $25 and hats are $20. Click here to learn more.

RUN ROUTES ARE DUE TO LUKE SCHULTE, schultel@ksso.org, BY MAY 1ST.  

Don’t see a torch Run in your town/county?  Contact Luke and let’s carry the FLAME OF HOPE through your community. To get started,
review the Leg Coordinator’s checklist, then download this registration form, complete it and send it to SOKS.

 

CURRENT PARTICIPATING AGENCIES AND RUN ROUTE

Run Route Contact Person Contact Information Date
Andover Troy Snedeker tsnedeker@andoverks.com  June 1
Atwood Greg Jones 785.626.3833  Fall 2018
Augusta Danny Strobbe dstrobbe@augustadps.org  June 1
Colby Luke Schulte schultel@ksso.org  Fall 2018
Dodge City Jeff Mooradian jeffm@dodgecity.org April 28
El Dorado to Wichita (Butler Co.) Luke Grimes lgrimes@bucoks.com  June 1
Ellsworth to Salina Douglas Lawson douglas.lawson@ks.gov May 23
Emporia to El Dorado John Koelsch jkoelsch@lyoncounty.org  May 30 – 31
Final Leg Sedgwick County Luke Schulte schultel@ksso.org  June 1
Fort Riley  Zachary Birchmeier zachary.t.birchmeier.mil@mail.mil  May 31
Garden City Gary Kuenstler gary.kuenstler@gardencityks.us
Goodland Joni Showalter joni.showalter@cityofgoodland.org  Fall 2018
Great Bend Heather Smith hsmith@greatbendks.net
Greenwood County H. Samuels hsamuels@greenwoodcountysheriff.org  May 31
Haskell County Derrick Ploutz dploutz@haskellso.org  Fall 2018
Haysville Justin Jacks jjacks@haysville-ks.com  May 30
Hoxie Brian Diercks 785.675.3291  Fall 2018
Hutchinson-Reno County Andrew Soule Andrew.soule@renolec.com  May 17
Junction City Matt Paquette Matt.Paquette@jcks.com  May 31
Johnson & Wyandotte Counties Adam Taylor ataylor@pvkansas.com  May 29
Larned to Great Bend James Graham James.graham@ks.gov  May 29
Lawrence to Ottawa Doug Woods dwoods@dgso.org  May 29
Leavenworth to Lansing Jim Sherley jsherley@leavenworthcounty.org  June 1
Manhattan to Ft. Riley Jessie Erhlich jgehrlich@rileycountypolice.org
McConnell AFB – Wichita Sr A Agosto mamimar.agosto@us.af.mil  June 1
McPherson Ryan Sherwood rsherwood@mcphersoncountyks.us  June 1
Oakley Dustin Shellito policechief@discoveroakley.com  Fall 2018
Ottawa to Beto Junction Larabe Alexander Lalexander@ottawapd.org  May 30
Pittsburg Chris Moore Christopher.Moore@police.pittks.org  April 19
Plainville Troy Rudman 785.434.2841  Fall 2018
Pottawatomie County Stefanie Spade sspade@ptsheriff.com
Saline County Scott Trembley Scott.Trembley@saline.org  May 23
Stockton Gary Knight 785.425.6312  Fall 2018
Topeka Kristi Powell kpowell@topeka.org  May 30
Winfield to Wichita Shawn Love slove@winfieldks.org  June 1