CALENDAR

Torch Runs

by | Jul 20, 2016 |

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TORCH RUN

Since its inception in Wichita, many more Kansas Law Enforcement agencies have participated in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR). This run turned fundraising campaign raises more than just thousands of dollars for Special Olympics.

In late April, the highlight of the Torch Run season begins when the Flame of Hope travels from all corners of the state throughout the month of May to the State Summer Games in Wichita. Officers from many different agencies escort the Flame of Hope on assigned legs throughout their local communities. The “Final Leg” is the culmination of the run, from Wichita City Hall to the Opening Ceremony of the Summer Games at Wichita State University. The Most Inspirational Athlete of the preceding year carries the Torch into the stadium escorted by the officers and together they light the cauldron to open the State Summer Games. Officers award medals throughout the three days of competition.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run ® gives officers, athletes and the community the opportunity to come together for a superior cause. Whether inspired to volunteer, donate or participate, they are be confident knowing they are supporting the Special Olympics Kansas mission to provide individuals with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to be an athlete… and more… through acceptance, inclusion, physical fitness, health and nutrition programs, and leadership development. – Together we will achieve.

Fort Riley Torch Runners

Torch Run Season is Now Here!

All members of law enforcement (city, county, state, & federal) are encouraged to register for the Torch Run in their local community!  Each runner is asked to raise at least $50 to support the athletes of Special Olympics Kansas and will receive a commemorative T-shirt. Sponsorship of runners is encouraged.

Online registrations and donations can be solicited online through this webpage.Offline registrations and donations can be done by downloading and completing the waiver and sending it, along with the donations, to the address on the bottom or by giving them to your agency coordinator.

RUN ROUTES ARE DUE TO LUKE SCHULTE, schultel@ksso.org, BY MAY 1ST.  

Don’t see a torch Run in your town/county?  Contact Luke and let’s carry the FLAME OF HOPE through your community. To get started,
review the Leg Coordinator’s checklist, then download this registration form, complete it and send it to SOKS.

 

CURRENT PARTICIPATING AGENCIES AND RUN ROUTES

HoxieBrian Diercks785.675.3291

Run Route Contact Person Contact Information Date
Andover Troy Snedeker tsnedeker@andoverks.com June
Atwood Greg Jones 785.626.3833
Augusta Danny Strobbe dstrobbe@augustadps.org June 2
Colby Luke Schulte schultel@ksso.org
Dodge City Jeff Mooradian 620.227.8126 Apr
El Dorado to Wichita Luke Grimes lgrimes@bucoks.com June
Ellsworth to Salina Brad Hansen brad.hansen@doc.ks.gov May
Emporia to El Dorado John Koelsch jkoelsch@lyoncounty.org May 31-Jun1
Final Leg Sedgwick County Luke Schulte schultel@ksso.org June 2
Fort Riley On Base Brett Payne brett.m.payne2.mil@mail.mil June 1
Garden City Gary Kuenstler gary.kuenstler@gardencityks.us
Goodland Joni Showalter joni.showalter@cityofgoodland.org
Great Bend Heather Smith hsmith@greatbendks.net June
Haskell County Derrick Ploutz dploutz@haskellso.org May 18
Haysville Justin Jacks jjacks@haysville-ks.com June
Hesston to Newton Jennifer Burns jburns@npdks.org May
Hoxie Brian Diercks 785.675.3291
Hutchinson-Reno County Andrew Soule Andrew.soule@renolec.com May 18
Junction City Matt Paquette Matt.Paqette@jcks.com June
Kansas City Kansas Mark Bundy mbundy@kckpd.org May 30
Larned to Great Bend James Graham JamesG@doc.ks.gov June
Lawrence to Ottawa Doug Woods dwoods@dgso.org May 30
Leavenworth to Lansing Maj. Sherley jsherley@leavenworthcounty.org June 9
Manhattan to Ft. Riley Jessie Erhlich jgehrlich@rileycountypolice.org  June
McConnell AFB – Wichita Teresa Coronado teresa.coronado.1@us.af.mil June
McPherson Ryan Sherwood rsherwood@mcphersoncountyks.us June 2
Oakley Dustin Shellito policechief@discoveroakley.com
Olathe to KCK Adam Taylor ataylor@pvkansas.com May 30
Ottawa to Beto Junction Larabe Alexander Lalexander@ottawapd.org May 31
Pittsburg Chris Moore Christopher.Moore@police.pittks.org
Plainville Troy Rudman 785.434.2841
Pott County to Manhattan Doug Adams dadms@ptsheriff.com June
Rice County Marcos Guerrero MGuerrero@rcsoks.org June
Saline County Scott Trembley Scott.Trembley@saline.org May 24
Stockton Gary Knight 785.425.6312
Topeka Kristi Powell kpowell@topeka.org May 31
Winfield to Wichita Shawn Love slove@winfieldks.org Jun