CALENDAR

Torch Runs

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TORCH RUN

Since its inception in Wichita, many more Kansas Law Enforcement agencies have participated in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR). This run turned fundraising campaign raises more than just thousands of dollars for Special Olympics.

In late April, the highlight of the Torch Run season begins when the Flame of Hope travels from all corners of the state throughout the month of May to the State Summer Games in Wichita. Officers from many different agencies escort the Flame of Hope on assigned legs throughout their local communities. The “Final Leg” is the culmination of the run, from Wichita City Hall to the Opening Ceremony of the Summer Games at Wichita State University. The Most Inspirational Athlete of the preceding year carries the Torch into the stadium escorted by the officers and together they light the cauldron to open the State Summer Games. Officers award medals throughout the three days of competition.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run ® gives officers, athletes and the community the opportunity to come together for a superior cause. Whether inspired to volunteer, donate or participate, they are be confident knowing they are supporting the Special Olympics Kansas mission to provide individuals with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to be an athlete… and more… through acceptance, inclusion, physical fitness, health and nutrition programs, and leadership development. – Together we will achieve.

Torch Run Season is Now Here!

All members of law enforcement (city, county, state, & federal) are encouraged to register for the Torch Run in their local community!  Each runner is asked to raise at least $50 to support the athletes of Special Olympics Kansas and will receive a commemorative T-shirt. Sponsorship of runners is encouraged.

Online registrations and donations can be solicited online through this webpage. Offline registrations and donations can be done by downloading and completing the waiver and sending it, along with the donations, to the address on the bottom or by giving them to your agency coordinator.

 
Fort Riley Torch Runners

Summer Games Lodging

A block of rooms has been reserved for May 30, 2019 – June 2, 2019. The special room rate will be available until May 12th or until the group block is sold-out, whichever comes first.

Booking a reservation from our site is simple. To begin the process, click HERE.

See you at the Hampton Inn Wichita Northwest in May!

RUN ROUTES ARE DUE TO LUKE SCHULTE, schultel@ksso.org, BY MAY 1ST.  

Don’t see a torch Run in your town/county?  Contact Luke and let’s carry the FLAME OF HOPE through your community. To get started, review the Leg Coordinator’s checklist, then download this registration form, complete it and send it to SOKS.

CURRENT PARTICIPATING AGENCIES AND RUN ROUTES

Andover

Route Information
Contact: Troy Snedeker
tsnedeker@andoverks.com
Date: TBD

Atwood

Route Information
Contact: Greg Jones
785-626-3833
Date: TBD

Augusta

Route Information
Contact: Danny Strobbe
dstrobbe@augustadps.org
Date: TBD

Colby

Route Information
Contact: Luke Schulte
schultel@ksso.org
Date: TBD

Dodge City

Route Information
Contact: Jeff Mooradian
jeffm@dodgecity.org
Date: TBD

El Dorado to Wichita (Butler Co)

Route Information
Contact: Luke Grimes
lgrimes@bucoks.com
Date: TBD

Ellsworth to Salina

Route Information
Contact: Douglas Lawson
douglas.lawson@ks.gov
Date: TBD

Emporia to El Dorado

Route Information
Contact: John Koelsch
jkoelsch@lyoncounty.org
Date: TBD

Final Leg - Sedgwick Co

Route Information
Contact: Luke Schulte
schultel@ksso.org
Date: TBD

Fort Riley

Route Information
Contact: Adam Hastert
adam.e.hastert.civ@mail.mil
Date: May 30, 2019

Garden City

Route Information
Contact: Gary Kuenstler
Gary.kuenstler@gardencityks.us
Date: TBD

Goodland

Route Information
Contact: Joni Showalter
joni.showalter@cityofgoodland.org
Date: TBD

Great Bend

Route Information
Contact: Heather Smith
hsmith@greatbendks.net
Date: TBD

Greenwood County

Route Information
Contact: H. Samuels
hsamuels@greenwoodcountysheriff.org
Date: TBD

Haskell County

Route Information
Contact: Derrick Ploutz
dploutz@haskellso.org
Date: TBD

Haysville

Route Information
Contact: Justin Jacks
jjacks@haysville-ks.com
Date: TBD

Hoxie

Route Information
Contact: Brian Diercks
785-675-3291
Date: TBD

Humboldt

Route Information
Contact: Shannon T. Moore
shannon.moore@humboldtkansas.org
Date: TBD

Hutchinson - Reno County

Route Information
Contact: Andrew Soule
andrew.soule@renolec.com
Date: TBD

Junction City

Route Information
Contact: Matt Paquette
matt.paquette@jcks.com
Date: TBD

Larned to Great Bend

Route Information
Contact: James Graham
james.graham@ks.gov
Date: TBD

Lawrence to Ottawa

Route Information
Contact: Doug Woods
dwoods@dgso.org
Date: TBD

Leavenworth to Lansing

Route Information
Contact: Jim Sherley
jsherley@leavenworthcounty.org
Date: TBD

Lenexa

Route Information
Contact: Sgt. Jacy Thompson
jthompson@lenexa.com
Date: June 4, 2019

McConnell AFB

Route Information
Contact: Sr. A Gissel Meza
gissel.meza@us.af.mil
Date: May 31, 2019

McPherson

Route Information
Contact: Ryan Sherwood
rsherwood@mcphersoncountyks.us
Date: May 30, 2019

Oakley

Route Information
Contact: Dustin Shellito
policechief@discoveroakley.com
Date: TBD

Ottawa to Emporia

Route Information
Contact: Larabe Alexander
lalexander@ottawapd.org
Date: May 29, 2019

Pittsburg

Route Information
Contact: Chris Moore
christopher.moore@police.pittks.org
Date: TBD

Plainville

Route Information
Contact: Troy Rudman
785-434-2841
Date: TBD

Pottawatomie County

Route Information
Contact: Stefanie Spade
sspade@ptsheriff.com
Date: TBD

Saline County

Route Information
Contact: Scott Trembley
scott.trembley@saline.org
Date: May 24, 2019

Stockton

Route Information
Contact: Gary Knight
785-425-6312
Date: TBD

Topeka

Route Information
Contact: Kristi Powell
kpowell@topeka.org
Date: TBD

Winfield to Wichita

Route Information
Contact: Shawn Love
slove@winfieldks.org
Date: TBD